Skip to main content Skip to main navigation
Skip to access and inclusion page Skip to search input

Media releases

Finalists announced for Westpac Community Leaders Awards


15 October 2014

Finalists for the 2014 Westpac Community Leaders Awards were announced today, recognising inspirational leaders who give generously of their time, capabilities and commitment to the Social Sector to help improve the lives of others in their region.

This year, there are six award categories, including Start-up Leader, Established Leader, Treasurer, Social Entrepreneurs, Board Members and Partnerships for Purpose, and each award recipient will receive financial and educational support valued at more than $12,000.

Jason Yetton, Group Executive of Westpac Retail & Business Banking, said: “The calibre of nominees was extremely high this year and a wonderful reminder of the generosity of local leaders working tirelessly throughout Australia. As finalists of the Westpac Community Leaders Awards, individuals will be recognised and supported with training and resources to continue creating brighter futures,” said Mr Yetton.

“In addition to the prizes offered to the award recipients, all finalists for the 2014 program will be invited to attend an exclusive thought leadership event in Sydney run with the support of the AGSM on the day of the awards presentation, which will be extremely rewarding - for both the finalists and the communities they support,” said Mr Yetton.

The awards ceremony will be staged in Sydney on November 13 and recipients of the 2014 program will be awarded $5,000 for their organisation, $5,000 worth of financial education training from Westpac’s school of money, The Davidson Institute, and enrolment in a Social Return on Investment training course from EY Climate Change and Sustainability Services. The individual will also receive a $500 MasterCard gift card.

Westpac launched the Community Leaders Awards in 2013 to ensure community leaders have access to financial and social impact education so they can continue to empower and grow their organisations.

Last year’s Community Leaders Award recipients include Kevin Robinson from Little Wings, Allen Chen from United Nations Youth Australia, Michael Combs from Career Trackers and Rachelle Towart from the Australian Indigenous Learning Development Centre who is also the face of this year’s awards program.

Finalists for the 2014 Westpac Community Leaders Awards across all six categories include:

Established Leader:

  • Darren Lomman, Chief Executive Officer, Dreamfit Foundation (WA)
  • Jordan O’Reilly, General Manager, Fighting Chance Australia (NSW)
  • Julliette Wright, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, GIVIT (QLD)

Partnership for Purpose:

  • Celia Hodson, Chief Executive Officer , School of Social Entrepreneurs (NSW)
  • Lincoln Hopper, Founder, NeuroCare Network (QLD)
  • Lisa Watson, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Kissabilities Inc. (WA)

Start-up Leader:

  • Nicolle and Manuela, Founders, Assist a Sista (NSW/QLD)
  • Penny Daly, Founder and President, The Welcome Group (VIC)
  • Sharon Hunneybell, Chief Operating Officer, Silicon Lakes Ltd (QLD)

Social Entrepreneur

  • Julian O’Shea, Director, Engineers Without Borders Institute (VIC)
  • Peter Cooley, Director, First Hand Solutions Aboriginal Corporation (NSW)
  • Tony Clark, Chief Executive Officer, Swags for Homeless (VIC)


  • Donald Warren, Treasurer, The Careers Education Association of Victoria (VIC)
  • Giles Gunesekera, National Treasurer, Amnesty International Australia (NSW)
  • Michele Clatworthy, Chief Financial Controller and Company Secretary, Diabetes Queensland (QLD)

Board members

  • Cath Keenan, Co-founder and Executive, Sydney Story Factory (NSW)
  • Elizabeth Shaw, Deputy Chairperson, Global Voices (VIC)
  • Layne Beachley, Chairman, Layne Beachley’s Aim for the Stars Foundation (NSW)