Skip to main content Skip to main navigation
Skip to access and inclusion page Skip to search input

Media releases

Local leaders celebrated at the Westpac Community Leaders Awards


14 November 2014

The winners of the 2014 Westpac Community Leaders Awards were announced in Sydney last night, an event that recognised inspirational leaders who give generously of their time, capabilities and commitment to the Social Sector, helping to improve the lives of others in their region.

This year, the Westpac Community Leaders Awards attracted more than 180 diverse, high quality nominations from around the country. The judging panel selected award recipients for each of the six award categories, including Start-up Leader, Established Leader, Treasurer, Social Entrepreneurs, Board Member and Partnership for Purpose.

Jason Yetton, Group Executive of Westpac Retail & Business Banking, said, “Good leaders are people who set out to make a difference and inspire other people to follow them. They are spearheads of change, dedicated to improving the lives of those most in need. They are seen as role models in their community because they lead by example. And this year’s winners are no exception; they have all demonstrated a unique passion and support for their community and are therefore very deserving of this accolade. Congratulations to each and every one of them.”

Recipients of the 2014 program were last night awarded $5,000 for their organisation, $5,000 worth of financial education training from Westpac’s School of Money, The Davidson Institute, and enrolment in a Social Return on Investment training course from EY Climate Change and Sustainability Services. The individual also received a $500 MasterCard gift card.

“Westpac has proudly supported Australia and its community organisations for nearly 200 years. We have always, and will always support our local communities. Next year we will continue to provide the type of support our partners need, whether it’s through the provision of grants, volunteering, fundraising or mentoring,” said Mr Yetton.

The 2014 Westpac Community Leaders Award Winners across all six categories include:

Board member:

  • Cath Keenan, Co-founder and Executive, Sydney Story Factory (NSW)

Established Leader:

  • Darren Lomman, Chief Executive Officer, Dreamfit Foundation (WA)

Partnership for Purpose:

  • Lincoln Hopper, Founder, NeuroCare Network (QLD)

Start-up Leader:

  • Nicolle and Manuela, Founders, Assist a Sista (NSW/QLD)

Social Entrepreneur:

  • Tony Clark, Chief Executive Officer, Swags for Homeless (VIC & QLD)


  • Donald Warren, Treasurer, The Careers Education Association of Victoria (VIC)