Skip to main content Skip to main navigation
Skip to access and inclusion page Skip to search input

Sending Money Overseas - Other Banks Fees

In addition to the fees charged by Westpac [and any conversion of proceeds], an international payment may also result in additional fees and charges being deducted by:

  • one or more other overseas banks involved in the international payment (an "Other Banks Fee"); and/or
  • the payment recipient's bank.

This could result in the recipient receiving less than the amount you originally sent.  An estimate of such Other Banks Fees can be found below based on the currency of the payment and the country / region the payment is being sent to. 


Important information about the estimated other bank fees:

  • Information in this table is based on the data obtained from an estimated average fee charge from a range of sources including (but not limited to) SWIFT data (February - April 2020) and other bank fees we are aware of.

  • Fees charged by the payment recipient's bank are not included in the estimate.

  • This table is intended to be used as a guide. There may be significant variance in the actual amount deducted by another overseas bank compared to the estimated fees in the table.
Currency payment is being sent in Country / Region payment is being sent to Estimated Fees (In local currency)
United Arab Emirates Dirham AED Within United Arab Emirates AED 40
Rest of the world AED 100
Brunei Dollar BND Within Brunei BND 50
Rest of the world BND 1,000
Canadian Dollar CAD Within Canada CAD 15
Rest of the world CAD 15
Swiss Franc CHF Within Switzerland CHF 25
Rest of the world CHF 25
Chinese Yuan CNY Within China CNY 100
Rest of the world CNY 100
Danish Krone DKK Within Denmark DKK 50
Rest of the world DKK 50
Euro EUR Within Europe* EUR 25.50
Rest of the world EUR 25.50
Fiji Dollar FJD Within Fiji FJD 15
Rest of the world FJD 25
Pound Sterling GBP Within United Kingdom GBP 12
Rest of the world GBP 28.50
Hong Kong Dollar HKD Within Hong Kong HKD 255
Rest of the world HKD 255
Indian Rupee INR Within India INR 400
Rest of the world INR 400
Japanese Yen JPY Within Japan 0.05% of sending amount
Rest of the world 0.05% of sending amount
Norwegian Krone NOK Within Norway NOK 20
Rest of the world NOK 100
New Zealand Dollar NZD Within New Zealand NZD 25
Rest of the world NZD 50
Papua New Guinean Kina PGK Within Papua New Guinea PGK 50
Rest of the world PGK 50
**Philippine Peso PHP Within Philippines PHP 500
Rest of the world PHP 500
**Pakistani Rupee PKR Within Pakistan PKR 5,000
Rest of the world PKR 5,000
Saudi Riyal SAR Within Saudi Arabia SAR 30
Rest of the world SAR 130
Solomon Islands Dollar SBD Within Solomon Islands SBD 50
Rest of the world SBD 50
Swedish Krona SEK Within Sweden SEK 20
Rest of the world SEK 30
Singapore Dollar SGD Within Singapore SGD 35
Rest of the world SGD 140
**Thai Baht THB Within Thailand THB 500
Rest of the world THB 500
Tongan Pa'anga TOP Within Tonga TOP 15
Rest of the world TOP 15
United States Dollar USD Within United States USD 5
Rest of the world USD 5
Vanuatu Vatu VUV Within Vanuatu VUV 15,000
Rest of the world VUV 15,000
Samoan Tala WST Within Samoa WST 20
Rest of the world WST 20
CFP Franc XPF Within French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna XPF 16, 695
Rest of the world XPF  16,695
South African Rand ZAR Within South Africa ZAR 713
Rest of the world ZAR 713

* The geographic regions of Europe, include 19 EU countries and 4 non-EU countries which use Euro as their national currency, in agreement with the EU (Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Vatican City)

Payments to the selected country is only available for amounts AUD 1,000 and above, or the foreign currency equivalent value. The countries currently subject to the restriction are Cambodia, Ghana, Indonesia, Laos, Mexico, Pakistan, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam.***

**International payments made in Thai Baht (THB), Filipino Peso (PHP) and Pakistani Rupee (PKR) to any eligible country is only available for amounts of AUD $1,000 in value and above.***

***This condition is subject to change from time to time at our discretion.